Tianshan Mountain included in the World Heritage List






The Tianshan Mountain, Xinjiang Province

On the morning of 21 June, 37th session of the World Heritage Committee on Phnom Penh, Kingdom of Cambodia, officially announced that China’s “Tianshan Mountain (天山)” has been included in the World Natural Heritage List.

Tianshan mountains is one of the world’s seven main mountain systems, it is the world’s largest chain of mountains in the arid regions of the temperate zone, the world’s largest independent mountains chain that goes east west.

The Tianshan Mountain included in the World Natural Heritage has a total area of ​​5,759 square kilometers covering four regions in Xinjiang Province, i.e. Changji Hui Autonomous Prefecture of Bogda, Bayinbuluke Bayinguoleng Mongol Autonomous Prefecture and Aksu region Tumur, Ili Kazak Autonomous Prefecture Kalajun – Kuerdening.

With Xinjiang Tianshan Mountain’s successful accession into the World Natural Heritage List, the number of World Heritage Sites in mainland of China has increased to 44, tied for second with Spain and after Italy’s 46.

Source: 人民网, ChinaNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.