Northwest China (Region)

Northwestern China (simplified Chinese: 西北地区, pinyin: Xīběi) is one of the seven major geographical regions in China divided by both physical and human characteristics. Northwest China covers 3 provinces (Shaanxi, Gansu & Qinghai) and 2 Autonomous Regions (Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region & Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region).

East China (City of Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui, Jiangxi, Shandong, Fujian and Taiwan Province)

North China (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanxi, Hebei, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region)

Central China (Henan, Hubei, Hunan)

South China (Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions)

Southwest China (Chongqing, Sichuan, Guizhou, Yunnan, Tibet)

Northwest China (Shaanxi, Gansu, Qinghai, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region)
Northeast China (Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning, Inner Mongolia, eastern)

Below are the 5 subregions of Northwest China:-

Shaanxi Province

Shaanxi Province (the abbreviated name “Shaan” or “Qin”) is in the hinterland of China. It is situated between east longitude 105°29’ to 111°15’ and north latitude 31°42’ to 39°35’. Shaanxi Province is located in an important position that connects East China and Central China. The capital city of Shaanxi is Xi’an which is a very famous city in China with a long history. Terracotta Warriors is a famous attraction of this city. Another city named Yan’an, also called Fushi in history, is located in northern part of Shaanxi Province, it was one of the most important cradles of Chinese revolution.
Terracotta Warriors
The Terracotta Warriors, Xi’an City, Shaanxi Province
Source: Online

Gansu Province

Gansu faces Shaanxi Province in the east, boards Sichuan and Qinghai provinces on the south and southwest, and adjoins Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region in the northwest. Gansu has been a multi-ethnic province since ancient times. 54 nationalities have inhabited here.
Kongtong Mountain, Gansu
Source: Online

Qinghai Province

The province lies on the northeastern part of the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau in west China, bordering Gansu and Sichuan provinces, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region and Tibet Autonomous Region. As the origin of the Yangtze, Yellow, and Lancang rivers, Qinghai has an area of 720,000 square kilometers, the fourth largest in China. Its territory includes 3.86 million hectares of grassland, 590,000 hectares of cultivated land and 266,000 hectares of forest ( 2015).

qinghai lake
Qinghai Lake
Source: 2015

Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region

The Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region is situated on the upper reaches of the Yellow River, it is one of China’s five autonomous regions inhabited by the minority groups. Ningxia borders Shaanxi Province in the east, the Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region in the north, and Gansu Province in the south. The Islamic culture of Hui People and natural desert views are famous tourist attractions in Ningxia.
ningxia desert view
Desert View in Ningxia
Source: 2014

Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region

Xinjiang lies in northwest China, bordering on Gansu and Qinghai provinces to the southeast and the Tibet Autonomous Region to the south, sharing a 5,000-km border line with eight countries. Xinjiang is the biggest administrative division in China, its administrative area of 1.6 million km2 accounts for approximate 1/6 of the total land area of China. Xinjiang is inhabited by many ethnic groups, marked by distinctive features of both spoken and written languages, music and dancing, and customs of the ethnic minorities with different background of history and civilization and religious beliefs ( 2016).
View of Xinjiang
Source: 2012

List of reference:- 2015 Tourist Destination For Summer [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link: 2016 Xinjiang Tours [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link: 2012 View of Xinjiang [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link: 2014 Shapotou [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.