Northeast China (Region)

Northeast China (simplified Chinese: 中国东北地区; traditional Chinese: 中國東北; pinyin:Zhōngguó Dōngběi) or Dongbei is one of the seven major geographical regions in China divided by both physical and human characteristics. Northeast China consists of 3 provinces: Heilongjiang, Jilin and Liaoning.

North China (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanxi, Hebei, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region)

Central China (Henan, Hubei, Hunan)

South China (Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions)

Southwest China (Chongqing, Sichuan, Guizhou, Yunnan, Tibet)

Northwest China (Shaanxi, Gansu, Qinghai, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region)

Northeast China (Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning)
Northeast China

Below are the 3 subregions of Northeast China:-


Heilongjiang Province, abbreviated as Hei in Chinese, is located along the northeast border of China. Because of the high latitude, Heilongjiang has a long and severe winter and a short summer, the average annual temperature between -6ºC and -4ºC. The average temperature of January, the coldest month of the year, is between -32ºC and -17ºC, while that of July, the hottest month, 16ºC to -23ºC. Therefore, there are a variety of special interest tours catering for tourists such as the ice and snow tour.
snow view, heilongjiang
Snow View, Heilongjiang
Source: 2015


Jilin Province is located in the geographic center of Northeast Asia, the hinterland of Northeast China. Jilin is also known as an area for winter sports and has produced some of the best ski resorts in China. However, it has many other natural and historical attractions to entertain its residents and visitors. For example, Mount Changbai, a volcanic mountain located in the Yanbian Korean Autonomous Prefecture of Jilin Province in northeast China is one of the most popular tourist destinations, it is famous for its volcanic mountain lakes, snow-capped peaks, cascading waterfalls, vast ancient forest, hot springs and abundant wildlife ( 2011).


Mount Changbai
Source: 2014


Liaoning is usually called “the Golden Triangle” in the Northeast due to the advantageous geographical location, with the Yellow sea and Bohai Sea to the south, Jilin Province to the northeast, Inner Mongolia to the northwest, Hebei Province to the West. Because of Yalu River on the border with the North Korea, it plays a vital role in China. Liaoning has a rich folk culture and custom which promotes its colorful festivals. Dalian International Fashion Festival, Shenyang International Ice and Snow Festival, Benxi Maple leaf Festival are the most famous festival in Liaoning Province ( 2015)

Dalian International Fashion Festival
Dalian International Fashion Festival
Source: 2016

List of reference:- 2015 Liaoning Travel Guide [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link: 2011 Changbai Mountain – Jilin Province China [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link: 2015 Hometown of Snow [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link: 2016 Dalian City [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link: 2014 Mount Changbai [online] accessed on May 10, 2016, link:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.