North China (Region)

Northern China or North China (simplified Chinese: 华北; traditional Chinese: 華北;pinyin: Huáběi; literally “China’s north”) is one of the seven major geographical regions in China divided by both physical and human characteristics. North China consists of 2 provinces (Shanxi, Hebei), 2 municipalities (Beijing, Tianjin) and 1 Autonomous Region (Inner Mongolia).

East China (City of Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui, Jiangxi, Shandong, Fujian and Taiwan Province)

North China (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanxi, Hebei, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region)

north chinaCentral China (Henan, Hubei, Hunan)

South China (Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions)

Southwest China (Chongqing, Sichuan, Guizhou, Yunnan, Tibet)

Northwest China (Shaanxi, Gansu, Qinghai, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region in western Alxa League)

Northeast China (Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning, Inner Mongolia, eastern)

Below are the five subregions of North China:-

Beijing City

Being the capital of China as well as one of the five national central cities, Beijing is also a global center of politics, business culture, transport and tourism. In fact, Beijing is also the country’s capital city for five dynasties in the long history (Liao, Yuan, Ming and Qing Dynasties). As a time-honored and one of the most visited cities of China, Beijing has many attractions and top tourist sites including the Forbidden City, Summer Palace, GreatWall, Temple of Heaven, Hutong, Courtyard and so on, each of them tells a different story of the history.


The Forbidden City
Source: Online

Tianjin City

Adjacent to Beijing, Tianjin is also a city directly administered by the central government of China. Tianjin is the biggest opening up coastal city in north China and the economic center of Bohai Sea rim. Tianjin is also a famous cultural and historical city, and it is considered as the origin of arts and culture in north China, therefore, it is always regarded as the “cradle of drama”, “hometown to arts”. Professional art organizations include Peking opera, Pingju opera, Hebei bangzi (Chinese local opera), modem drama, dance symphony etc ( 2005).
An antique market in Tianjin
Source: online

Shanxi Province

Shanxi province is situated along the middle reaches of the Yellow River, to the west of the Taihang Mountains, covering 156,000 square kilometers. The province lies in a temperate zone with a continental climate and has distinct seasons. Most of it is more than 1,000 meters above sea level, with hills covering two-thirds of the province ( 2012). Noodle is a leader in Shanxi eating culture.The long history of Shanxi noodle culture has more than 200 years. Shanxi cuisine is most well-known for its extensive use of vinegar as a condiment and for its noodles.
shanxi noodles
Shanxi cuisine – noodles
Source: Online

Hebei Province

Hebei province, which surrounds the capital Beijing, covers a total area of 187,700 sq km. The provincial capital Shijiazhuang is 283 km from Beijing in the north. The province adjoins Tianjian and the Bohai Sea in the east and the provinces of Shangdong and Henan in south. Hebei is the sole province with seashore, plains, lakes, hills and plateaus and has a large quantity and variety of natural resources ( 2004).
Chengde, Hebei
Chengde, Hebei
Source: Online

Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region

Inner Mongolia, China’s northern border autonomous region, features a long, narrow strip of land sloping from northeast to southwest. It stretches 2,400 km (about 1,491 miles) from west to east and 1,700 km (1,056 miles) from north to south. It is the third largest among China’s provinces, municipalities, and autonomous regions ( 2013). Inner Mongolia has a peculiar natural scenery, long history and brilliant culture. Vast grasslands, including the Xilamuren Grassland, Gegentala Grassland and Huitengxile Grassland are all good places for a grassland experience.
scenery in inner mogolia
Grassland in Inner Mongolia
Source: 2015

List of reference 2013 Inner Mongolia [online] accessed on 9th Apr 2016, link: 2012 Shanxi Province [online] accessed on 9th Apr 2016, link: 2005 TianJin Basic Facts 2005 [online] accessed on 9th Apr 2016, link: 2004 About Hebei [online] accessed on 9th Apr 2016, link: [online] accessed on 9th Apr 2016, link: 2016 General Introduction of Zhejiang Province [online] accessed on 9th Apr 2016, link:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.