Location of China: Northern and Eastern Hemisphere, Central and East Asia

Time in China: GMT+8


With the vast territory ranging from 73 degree east longitude (Xinjiang Province) to 135 degree east longitude (Heilongjiang Province), geographically China covers GMT+5, GMT+6, GMT+7, GMT+8 & GMT+9. But in pursuit of a standard time within China and avoid confusions in field of communication and transportation, the government applied GMT+8 where the capital city, Beijing is located. Thus Beijing Time is universally used through all the media broadcastings in mainland China. As a result, interestingly people in the west would have dinner probably at 9PM or 10PM and time of all other human activities such as defining the working hours will vary accordingly. Luckily if you are traveling in the coastal areas of China or the central China, rhythm of life will still be quite pleasurable.

General Trend of Topography of China: High in the West and Low in the East

china terrain

The Chinese terrain is generally high in the west and low in the east with roughly three levels ladder-like distribution. China’s two major rivers, the Yellow River and the Yangtze River starting from the western Qinghai-Tibet Plateau running east through nine and ten provinces, municipalities and autonomous regions, respectively, into the Bohai Sea and the East China Sea. The flow of China’s major rivers all reflects the general trend of the topography of China, i.e. high in the west and low in the east.

Areas in China

Central China includes:

1. Henan Province;

2. Hubei Province; &

3. Hunan Province.


East China includes:

1. Shanghai;

2. Jiangsu Province;

3. Zhejiang Province;

4. Anhui Province;

5. Fujian Province;

6. Jiangxi Province; &

7. Shandong Province.


North China includes:

1. Beijing;

2. Tianjin;

3. Hebei;

4. Shanxi; &

5. Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region.


Northeast China includes:

1. Liaoning Province;

2. Jilin Province; &

3. Heilongjiang Province.

Northwest China includes:

1. Shaanxi Province;

2. Gansu Province;

3. Qinghai Province;

4. Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region; &

5. Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region.


South China includes:

1. Guangdong Province;

2. Hainan Province; &

3. Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region.


Southwest China includes:

1. Chongqing Province;

2. Sichuan Province;

3. Guizhou Province;

4. Yunnan Province; &

5. Tibet Autonomous Region.


Other Regions include:

1. HongKong;

2. Macau;

3. Taiwan;

4. Diaoyu Islands;

5. South China Sea Islands;

6. Other areas to be classified.


Environmental Challenges

The hottest March of Shanghai recorded


A new landmark of the Bund, Shanghai: “Bund Central Shopping Centre”

Amazing nature: One pig cub, two heads, three eyes and four legs

Proposal to loosen the “one child policy” in China

The Turning Point of Population Bonus in China Showed Up 2012!

Earthquate feeling in Dongguan, Guangdong, China on 1145AM 22nd Feb 2013


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.