East China (Region)

East China or Eastern China (simplified Chinese: 华东地区; traditional Chinese: 華東; pinyin: Huádōng) is an east coastal region in China, it is one of the seven major geographical regions in China divided by both physical and human characteristics. In fact, the classification is clearly stated in the Middle School textbook ‘Physical geography of China’ (see below). The East China region consists of 7 provinces (Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui, Jiangxi, Shandong, Fujian and Taiwan) and 1 city (Shanghai), it is an economically more developed area in China.

East China (City of Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui, Jiangxi, Shandong, Fujian and Taiwan Province)
east china
North China (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanxi, Hebei, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region)
Central China (Henan, Hubei, Hunan)
South China (Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions)
Southwest China (Chongqing, Sichuan, Guizhou, Yunnan, Tibet)
Northwest China (Shaanxi, Gansu, Qinghai, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region in western Alxa League)
Northeast China (Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning, Inner Mongolia, eastern)

Below are the eight subregions of East China:-

Shanghai City

Know as the Paris of the East, Shanghai has developed from a shipping and trading port into one of the most prosperous metropolises in the world. Shanghai is also a top tourist destination renowned for the historical landmarks such as The Bund, City God Temple and Yu Garden.
the bund shanghai
The Bund, Shanghai
Source: poco.cn 2013

Jiangsu Province

Jiangsu has been a tourist paradise ever since ancient times. Nanjing, Suzhou, Yangzhou, Zhenjiang, Changshu, Xuzhou and Huai’an are famous historical and cultural cities. Sixteen cities in the province have been entitled Fine Tourist Cities in the country, including Nanjing, the capital of six dynasties, and Suzhou, the Paradise on the Earth. There are 3 major tourist centers in Jiangsu, namely the Yangtze River Area, the Tai Lake Area and the Xuhuai (Xuzhou and Huai’an) Area (jiangsu.gov.cn 2016).
qinhuai river
The Qinhuai River, Nanjing City, Jiangsu Province
Source: pconline.com.cn 2015

Zhejiang Province

Zhejiang Province, located in the southern part of Yangtze River Delta of the southeast coast of China, lies in the east of the East China Sea, south of Fujian Province, west of Jiangxi Province and Anhui Province, and north of Shanghai and Jiangsu Province. Zhejiang, which literally means a zigzagging river, is named because of the largest river in that territory, Qiantang River. The name of the province is often abbreviated to its first character “浙” or Zhe, with Hangzhou as its provincial capital (zj.gov.cn 2016).
west lake
West Lake, Hangzhou, Zhejiang
Source: ctps.cn 2006

Anhui Province

Anhui is located in the middle and lower reaches of the Yangtze River and the Huai River and in the hinterland of the Yangtze River Delta. With various landforms, Anhui has a warm and moist climate and distinct four seasons. Anhui has very featured traditional culture and charming natural spots.
hui opera
The Hui Opera
Source: www.ah.gov.cn 2014

Jiangxi Province

Jiangxi is a cradle of the Chinese revolution. The rural revolutionary base established by President Mao Zedong in Jinggang Mountain is known as “The Red City.” Jiangxi is also renowned for the natural beauty of its misty mountains and fresh water lakes.

sanqing mountain
Sanqing Mountain, Jiangxi Province

Shandong Province

Shandong is one of China’s major agricultural production bases, it is known as “a warehouse of grains, cotton, and oil, and the land of fruits and aquatic products.” The apples produced in Yantai, pears from Laiyang, peaches of Feicheng, and Leling’s golden-threaded jujubes are all famous specialties.
yantai apple
Yantai Apple

Fujian Province

Situated in the southeastern coast of China and bordering Zhejiang Province, Jiangxi Province and Guangdong Province, Fujian is facing Taiwan across the Straits and one of the closest mainland provinces to Southeast Asia and Oceania, as well as an important window and base of China for global exchanges (fujian.gov.cn 2016). Southern Fujian is home to Hokkien dialect which is also widely spoken in Taiwan and Southeast Asia.
HaKKa Traditional House in Fujian Province

Taiwan Province

Taiwan province consists of the island of Taiwan (an island 161 km off the Asian mainland in the Pacific), two off-shore islands (Kinmen and Matsu) and the nearby islets of the Pescadores chain. Taiwan is famous for its magnificent food. The capital Taipei is home to one of Asia’s most exciting street food scenes.
taiwan street food
Taiwan Street Food
Source: online

List of reference

fujian.gov.cn 2016 Overview of Fujian [online] accessed on 23rd Apr 2016, link: http://www.fujian.gov.cn/english/FujianInfo/AboutFujian/OverviewofFujian/

ctps.cn 2006 West Lake, Hangzhou [online] accessed on 23rd Apr 2016, link: http://www.ctps.cn/PhotoNet/bbs/showdoc.asp?method=normal&bid=29&id=19891

jiangsu.gov.cn 2016 Brief introduction to Jiangsu [online] accessed on 23rd Apr 2016, link:

poco.cn 2013 The Bund [online] accessed on 9th Apr 2016, link: http://photo.poco.cn/lastphoto-htx-id-3579897-p-0.xhtml

pconline.com.cn 2015 Qinhuai River Show [online] accessed on 23rd Apr 2016, link: http://dp.pconline.com.cn/photo/list_3494955.html

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.