Central China (Region)

Central China (simplified Chinese: 华中地区; traditional Chinese: 華中; pinyin: huá zhōng) is one of the seven major geographical regions in China divided by both physical and human characteristics. Central China consists of 3 provinces: Henan, Hubei and Hunan.

East China (City of Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui, Jiangxi, Shandong, Fujian and Taiwan Province)

North China (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanxi, Hebei, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region)

Central China (Henan, Hubei, Hunan)
central china
South China (Guangdong, Guangxi, Hainan, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions)

Southwest China (Chongqing, Sichuan, Guizhou, Yunnan, Tibet)

Northwest China (Shaanxi, Gansu, Qinghai, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region in western Alxa League)

Northeast China (Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning, Inner Mongolia, eastern)

Below are the 3 subregions of Central China:-

Henan Province

The name of Henan comes from its geographic location. Henan literally means ‘the south of the river’, meaning that Henan is situated in south of China’s Yellow River. The province covers an area of over 160,000 square kilometers (about 62,000 square miles). It is populated by Han, Hui, Manchu, Mongolian and other ethnic groups totaling 92,560,000 people.
Henan Province
Source: Online

Hubei Province

Hubei is rich in agriculture, forestry and hydropower resources. Agriculture and fishery are well-developed in Hubei, with main products like paddy rice, wheat, ramie, cotton, silk, tea, orange, fish, and vegetable oil, the outputs of which are among the top of the country. Its main industries include iron and steel, machinery, power and automobile. Its capital city is Wuhan (hubei.gov.cn 2012).
Wuhan Yangtze River Bridge, Hubei
Wuhan Yangtze River Bridge, Hubei
Source: Online

Hunan Province

Hunan is located on the south bank of the Yangtze River, it is named after its location at the south of Dongting Lake (Hu means lake and Nan means south literally). Hunan is famous for it cuisine, the Hunan cuisine or sometimes called Xiang cuisine (湘菜), is one of the eight regional cuisines of China. The cooking skills employed in Hunan cuisine reached a high standard as early as the Western Han Dynasty, over 2,100 years ago. Hunan cuisine consists of more than 4,000 dishes, among which over 300 are very famous. It is characterized by its hot and sour flavour, fresh aroma, and deep colour (enghunan.gov.cn 2015).
Xiang cuisine
Hunan cuisine
Source: changsha.cn 2015

List of reference

changsha.cn 2015 Hunan cuisine @ Lotus Road (荷花路上的青瓷湘菜店) [online] accessed on 9th May 2016, link: http://bbs.changsha.cn/read-3130718-1-3.html

enghunan.gov.cn 2015 Hunan Cuisine [online] accessed on 9th May 2016, link: http://www.enghunan.gov.cn/AboutHunan/HistoryCulture/CTC/201507/t20150714_1796385.html

hubei.gov.cn 2012 Hubei Administrative Division [online] accessed on 9th May 2016, link: http://en.hubei.gov.cn/hubei_info/introduction/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.